Prelude to the Central From Tourney Finals

Prelude To the Finals

Okay, since most everyone is distracted by the eclipse, I’ll use this opportunity to let everyone know that I’ve painted myself into a corner with regards to the tournament finals. Through the previous rounds all was well. Wargames squared off against others in the same category and everything moved along smooth, as expected. But now here we are with four wargames left from four entirely different categories. On one side the Operational Level winner, NATO: The Next War in Europe versus the PC/Console Game winner, The Operational Art of War Vol. IV. On the other side the Corps/Divisional winner NATO: Division Commander squares off against the Tactical winner MBT. Four quite different games with the only similarity being that they all take place on the Central Front. That’s not enough to base the final round of competition on.

I guess I have to step back and figure out a new scoring system for the last few matchups. If it weren’t for real life commitments, I could probably have one worked up by tonight. But sadly, real life has to be dealt with first. So, for the rest of this week I’ll get cracking on the revised finals and will probably post them next Saturday or Sunday. Meanwhile, I’ll turn back to World War III 1987 and pop off at least one blog entry this week. I’m leaning towards a conclusion to the Central Front: V Corps addendum. So, there’s that to look forward to.

I hope everyone enjoyed the eclipse today if you were close enough to catch all, or part of it. –Mike

2 Replies to “Prelude to the Central From Tourney Finals”

  1. I thought the winner of the Operational Level was Third World War: Battle for Germany, rather than NATO: The Next War in Europe?

    Doesn’t matter really, both are great games.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dammit, dammit, dammit. You’re right. This is what I meant. The two games are so similar I can hardly tell them apart 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment